Ashleigh Barty and Alex de Minaur share tennis achievement


Buy Website Traffic | Increase Website Traffic | SEO Backlinks | Alexa Ranking

Final yr’s Newcombe Medallist gained the WTA Elite Trophy in Zhuhai, one other singles title on grass in Nottingham in addition to 4 doubles titles – together with her maiden grand slam alongside American Coco Vandeweghe in New York.

Barty amassed 46 singles wins for the season, reaching the Sydney closing, semi- finals in Strasbourg, Montreal and Wuhan and making a career-best fourth-round run on the US Open along with her two title successes.

Alex De Minaur at the Australian Open.

Alex De Minaur on the Australian Open.Credit score:Eddie Jim

De Minaur couldn’t be denied both after being named the ATP’s Newcomer of the 12 months following his meteoric rise from No.208 to a career-high 31st within the rankings in 2018.

The 19-year-old’s breakout season started with runs to the Brisbane semi-finals and Sydney closing, which earned a Davis Cup debut, the place he pushed then-world No.four Alexander Zverev to 5 units.

He additionally reached the Washington closing earlier than rounding out his yr with a runner-up exhibiting at Subsequent Gen ATP Finals in Milan.

US Open quarter-finalist John Millman, who climbed to a career-high No.33 on this planet after his beautiful win over Roger Federer at Flushing Meadows, and wheelchair champion Dylan Alcott, who gained a sixth grand slam title this yr, have been the opposite nominees for the highest gong on Monday night time.


A spotlight of the night time at Melbourne’s Crown On line casino was the presentation of the Spirit of Tennis Award to retired ace Casey Dellacqua for her excellent achievements each on and off the court docket.

Darren Cahill, who guided ladies’s world No.1 Simona Halep to her breakthrough grand slam crown on the French Open, gained the teaching excellence award.

Full record of 2018 Newcombe Medal award winners:

Newcombe Medal: Ashleigh Barty and Alex de Minaur

Spirit of tennis: Casey Dellacqua

Teaching excellence efficiency: Darren Cahill

Teaching excellence growth: Stephen Thompson

Feminine junior athlete of the yr: Destanee Aiava

Male junior athlete of the yr: Rinky Hijikata

Most excellent athlete with a incapacity: Archie Graham

Teaching excellence membership: Adon Kronk, Mooloolaba Tennis Membership, Queensland

Most excellent tennis membership: Henley South Tennis Membership, South Australia

Most excellent faculty: Casuarina Avenue Major Faculty, Katherine East, Northern Territory

Excellence in officiating: Simon Cannavan

Volunteer achievement award: John Decide

Most excellent skilled event: 2017 Apis Canberra Worldwide, Canberra, ACT

Most excellent Australian rating event: AGL Loy Yang Traralgon Worldwide, Victoria

Most excellent 35+ tennis senior: Peter Froelich.


Buy Website Traffic | Increase Website Traffic | SEO Backlinks | Alexa Ranking

Source link