Fiery Spaniard had a two-shot penalty revoked at Open just two weeks after Irish Open rules fiasco
JON RAHM denied there is a rift between him and Lee Westwood after a rules controversy.
Rahm copped a two-shot penalty in round one – later revoked – after playing partner Westwood raised the alarm over a possible rules breach.
Fiery Rahm was let off by Open chiefs on Thursday night, so what would have been a 71 stayed a 69.
He went on to make the cut after a second-round 74 left him three over for the tournament.
Rahm, 22, said: “We’ve moved on. Obviously no hard feelings. He was actually trying to help.
“He was trying to avoid me getting into trouble if somebody saw it on TV or had it on his camera phone.
“So I think he did it with the best intentions. And I told him I believe he felt bad I had to go through it.
“But hey, we’re in here together. I was not mad at him.”
He’s got beef with you
Fuming Andrew ‘Beef’ Johnston labels radio presenter a ‘d***head’ after being called a ‘clown’ in poll
DOWN TO A TEE
Who is Eilidh Barbour? BBC sports presenter and the face of the Beeb’s golf coverage – all you need to know
‘It only applies to a few’
Paige Spiranac deemed too sexy for the LPGA Tour as they bring in strict new dress code
‘She’s very pretty’
Peter Alliss risks sexism row again after saying Sergio Garcia’s fiancee Angela Akins has ‘lovely legs’
Who is Rory McIlroy’s fiancee Erica Stoll? And why did he break up with Caroline Wozniacki?
‘I can tell her anything’
Rory McIlroy reveals how he met fiancee Erica Stoll… and why he dumped Caroline Wozniacki
Westwood spotted Rahm moving some scrub near his ball when he ploughed into the rough on the 17th.
He pointed out it was not dead vegetation and therefore could not be deemed a loose impediment.
It is the second time in two weeks Rahm has been involved in a rules storm after accusations he replaced his ball on the wrong spot on the green at the Irish Open, which he won by six shots.
Yesterday Rahm and Westy looked best buddies – with the Spaniard cheering and fistpumping the Englishman after an eagle on the fifth.
On the controversy, diplomatic Westwood said: “I saw him lift it up and move it around to about three o’clock. That’s all I saw. I’m not commenting on anything else.”
Chelsea winger Pedro says he’s fine after being rushed to hospital with concussion from punch from Arsenal keeper David Ospina
Real Madrid boss Zinedine Zidane confirms Brazilian Danilo has left squad to undergo Man City medical
Real Madrid vs Man Utd: What time does match kick-off and what TV channel is it on?
Chelsea unveil sleeve sponsor for the first time with logo set to feature during Premier League games
‘WISHING HIS FAMILY STRENGTH’
Bournemouth star Nathan Ake leads the tributes as Portsmouth confirm fan’s death
Arsenal’s Olivier Giroud row as French striker is barred from playing because of administrative cock-up