Trump's departure time moved up because Kim is leaving shortly after the summit, official says

0
3

Buy Organic Traffic | Cheap Organic Traffic | Increase Organic Traffic | Organic Traffic


Trump’s departure time moved up as a result of Kim is leaving shortly after the summit, official says

11 hr 17 min ago

From CNN’s Mick Krever

Singapore Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong tells CNN’s Christiane Amanpour that if Trump uses a “go it alone” strategy, American influence will be diminished.

“If on many issues the US is going it alone, that’s a different kind of world which the US will be facing. And you are very powerful, but I think your influence will be less than if you went in together with others.” 

Speaking in Singapore, Lee said that on some issues — like Iran — the US will maintain significant influence through things like sanctions, but that overall its ability to have an impact will be lessened.

Here’s more from CNN’s Christiane Amanpour:

12 hr 23 min ago

From CNN’s Ryan Struyk

3 hr 25 min ago

The view of Resorts World Sentosa island in Singapore is pictured on June 6, 2018. The highly anticipated meeting between US President Donald Trump and North Korean leader Kim Jong Un will take place at a resort island off Southern Singapore, the White House confirmed on June 5, 2018.

US officials negotiated with a North Korean delegation to determine the location and time for the summit. Security had been a chief concern for the North Koreans during the discussions, sources told CNN.

And it appears that Singapore checked all the boxes.

Here’s why Singapore was chosen for the summit:

  1. Location, location, location: It’s just close enough for Kim to fly relatively easily from Pyongyang.
  2. Ties to the US: Singapore is also one of Washington’s closest Asian security and trading partners.
  3. The embassies: The US and North Korea both have embassies in Singapore.
  4. Trading partners: Both countries trade Singapore. But North Korean trade is currently suspended because of sanctions.
  5. Its reputation: Singapore also has a growing reputation for being a hub of regional diplomacy.
  6. Protesting? Think again: Singapore does not tolerate disorderly protests and rowdy press conferences.
  7. It’s neutral ground: This is key for the US.

13 hr 46 min ago

From CNN’s Justin Solomon

Dennis Rodman said he hopes the Trump-Kim Jong Un summit is a “success” and is “happy to be part of it” because he “deserves” it. 

While responding to a CNN question shortly after his arrival at Singapore airport, Rodman said:

“I’m just happy to be a part of it because I think I deserve it, I think I brought awareness on a lot of things around the world, and I think North Korea has given a lot of people the opportunity to do this conference now. And I hope it’s a success.”

He added the meeting between the two leaders “should go fairly well” but that “people expect too much for the first time” although the “door was opening.”

Rodman would not comment on whether he would be meeting with either President Trump or Kim Jong Un.

14 hr 10 min ago

15 hr 12 min ago

This handout provided by the Singapore’s Ministry of Communications and Information (MCI) shows Trump with Singapore’s Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong on June 11.

President Trump and North Korea’s Kim Jong Un will meet in just a few hours. Here’s what to watch for and when, according to the White House schedule.

  • 8 p.m. ET (June 11) / 8 a.m. Singapore (June 12): President Trump departs Shangri-La Hotel en route to Capella Singapore, where the two leaders will meet.
  • 8:20 p.m. ET (June 11) / 8:20 a.m. Singapore (June 12): Trump arrives at Capella Singapore.
  • 9 p.m. ET (June 11) / 9 a.m. Singapore (June 12): President Trump and Kim Jong Un greet each other. This is the big moment. Cameras will be there to capture their expected handshake.
  • 9:15 p.m. ET (June 11) / 9:15 a.m. Singapore (June 12): President Trump and Kim Jong Un participate in a one-on-one bilateral meeting.
  • 10 p.m. ET (June 11) / 10 a.m. Singapore (June 12): President Trump and Kim Jong Un participate in an expanded bilateral meeting.
  • 11:30 p.m. ET (June 11) / 11:30 a.m. Singapore (June 12): President Trump and Kim Jong Un have a working lunch.
  • 4 a.m. ET (June 12) / 4 p.m. Singapore: President Trump is expected to speak with reporters.
  • 6:30 a.m. ET / 6:30 p.m. Singapore: President Trump departs Capella Singapore for Paya Lebar Air Base Singapore.
  • 7 a.m. ET / 7 p.m. Singapore: Trump departs Paya Lebar Air Base, Singapore, en route to Andersen Air Force Base, Guam. From there, he will travel on to the United States.