MANUEL LANZINI may face a two-match retrospective suspension for diving.
The Argentine playmaker gained a penalty after an acrobatic tumble to the turf following a problem by Potters defender Erik Pieters.
The penalty gave the Hammers an early lead and was the primary of their three unanswered targets.
A livid Mark Hughes stated Lanzini had “clearly dived”.
Hughes raged: “He is clearly dived. He is a intelligent participant. He wasn’t clipped, he’s simply clearly dived.
“It is disappointing the referee hasn’t seen that and he ought to have given us a free-kick previous to him taking the ball into the field. He acquired the state of affairs doubly unsuitable from our standpoint.
“They should get the match-defining selections appropriate and he actually didn’t get that appropriate. That made it harder for us with the way in which West Ham play with numerous males behind the ball.
“Whether or not or not Lanzini is punished, it doesn’t assist us. The state of affairs is gone. Except they’ve a time sooner or later after they offer you a aim if someone does that – I can’t see that occuring myself!
“It’s a state of affairs they’re attempting to stamp out, and the powers that be are attempting to deal with it and curtail it. However the broken celebration – ourselves on this event – don’t get the good thing about it.”
At first sight it seemed as if Pieters tripped Lanzini within the field, however on nearer inspection there seemed to be no contact with daylight between Lanzini and the left leg of Pieters earlier than his descend.
The midfielder convincingly launched himself over the defenders leg earlier than rolling onto the pitch.
Contact was finally made, however solely after Lanzini was already heading in the direction of the bottom.
Each Pieters and Potters keeper Jack Butland ran in the direction of referee Graham Scott in protest.
However Linzini had already conned him as he pointed to the spot.
Mark Noble then discovered the underside proper nook to present the Hammers a 1-Zero benefit.
Followers – each Stoke and West Ham alike – on social media referred to as out Lanzini for the dive.
One Hammers fan stated: “Glad we’re additionally not going to win simply by Lanzini’s dive. Would’ve discovered no pleasure within the win.”
Whereas Stoke followers have been in little question that the 24-year-old ought to obtain the suspension.
After the match the Irons boss David Moyes admitted that whereas the penalty was a comfortable resolution, his participant went down with fatigue slightly than in try to deceive.
Moyes instructed Match of the Day: “The defender gave the referee a choice to make. Manuel Lanzini ran about 70 yards so I believe he went over with fatigue slightly than a dive.
“I might be upset to present away a penalty like that however typically that is the way in which it goes.”