Ivorian escapes retrospective ban for accusations of diving in Palace’s draw towards Bournemouth
THE FA have determined Crystal Palace winger Wilfried Zaha is not going to face any additional self-discipline after suspected dives towards Bournemouth.
Palace had been awarded two penalties for challenges on the Ivorian contained in the field throughout their 2-2 draw towards the Cherries on Saturday.
English soccer’s governing physique have reviewed the footage of the challenges and determined that Zaha is not going to be punished for simulation.
He would have been solely the second participant to get a retrospective ban for efficiently deceiving the referee into pointing to the spot.
The primary was Everton’s Oumar Niasse who was handed a two-match suspension after a dive in Everton’s 2-2 draw with Palace earlier this season.
He was discovered responsible of committing a ‘Profitable Deception of a Match Official’ and subsequently spent two video games on the sidelines.
There have been differing opinions on Zaha’s actions, with Palace boss Roy Hodgson backing his participant saying “Wilfried doesn’t dive”.
Nevertheless, former referee Mark Halsey believed he did certainly deceive the referee and needs to be banned.
He stated: “For my part, Zaha is seeking to deceive the referee. If the FA are going to be constant, having charged Everton’s Oumar Niasse final month, they’ve certainly obtained to be doing the identical with Zaha.
“I don’t assume the primary one was a penalty.”
Two spot-kicks weren’t sufficient to earn Palace all three factors, as Christian Benteke missed from the spot within the 93rd, costing his aspect the win.
That made it 4 attracts of their final 5 matches because the Eagles stay caught on the backside of the Premier League desk.